Happy Xmas From Boolab Studios -Boolab Xmas Tree-


It’s been a while since my last post, I’ve been busy with different projects lately!

Here it is one of them, a Xmas salutation from Boolab Studios.

It was done in one week, full-time, afterhours kind of job……..you know, that’s the way it goes when you have a deadline that it is not flexible and haven’t changed in the last 2000 years😉

Directed by Digo Kalil, a nice and very talented director, and animated by me.

We worked digitally, the rough animation has been done  in TV PAint Animation Pro with a Wacom intuos 3 tablet, and the clean up has been done in Photoshop CS4.

Here are the links to the studio and to the director if you want to check them out!

Diogo Kalil

Boolab

Hope you all enjoy it,

Happy new year to everione!

13 Responses to “Happy Xmas From Boolab Studios -Boolab Xmas Tree-”

  1. Muy bueno…Muy bueno!!!

    Abrazo, y felíz año.

  2. David Nethery Says:

    I like this very much . I’m interested in your work flow: you did the rough animation in TVP and then clean-up in Photoshop .. but that seems to be creating an extra step . Why not do both rough and clean-up in TVP ?

    I’m not criticizing anyone’s work flow; whatever works for you is fine, but I’m just curious about why introduce the (seemingly) unnecessary extra step of cleaning-up in a different application?

    • pablonavarro Says:

      Hi David, thank you, glad you like it!

      Yes, it is a extra un-needed step to do the clean up in photoshop, I’ll tell you why I have to do it that way.
      I worked has a freelancer in this animation piece, and unfortunately not everybody uses TVpaint in nowadays, I was doing and directing the animation, but the clean up artists were freelancers too, and they didn’t knew how to use TVPaint, so I was asked by director and studio if they could do clean up in photoshop, deadlines were too tight for me to teach them to use TVpain, so once the animation was finished, I had to switch to photoshop, so the clean up and painting team could work comfortable and meet the deadlines.
      that’s the reason for the extra step, I’ve encountered this in many other projects, TVpaint it’s not well known yet, and most of the people uses flash or photoshop to animate, a mistake in my opinion having TVpaint to do bitmap quality animation.
      After this job, I did another one for this same studio, with a even tighter deadline, and I had to do all the work, from directing the animation to the final color, and because it was only me in the animation team😉 I use a workflow only based on tvpaint….

      So David, that’s the reason for having a “weird” workflow.

      All the best!

  3. That makes perfect sense . Thanks for the explanation of how the piece was made. (What can I say? — I’m a workflow geek ! I love watching the making-of and behind-the-scenes segments on DVD’s almost as much as the films. )

    By the way, glad to see you on the TVP user forum. I hope we’ll see more of you there.

  4. Muy bueno, poniendo en practica diferentes estilos de animacion.
    TvPaint es un programa con muy buena pinta; me sumo al interes de David por el making off de tus trabajos. Gracias por seguir compartiendo con nosotros. Saludos!

  5. Hi Pablo,
    hope things are good! this is some amazing piece of art ! like Hayo Fritag’s
    animation, but with your own unique brilliance woven in, really stunning timing and most of all comedy timing ! a gift to achieve it so perfectly!
    hope everything is going well
    best wishes
    John
    John Lee..

    • pablonavarro Says:

      Hi Jhon!!
      Yes things are good!
      I’m working in several projects at the same time…..quite crazy, but that’s how it is for animators in nowadays😉
      Thank you glad you like it!
      All the best my friend, take care!
      And keep uploading in your blog those amazing paintings!!!!

      Hugs

  6. Wow very good looking and funny animation!
    I like the hand drawn style of the animation!

    Keep up the good work!

    http://www.janmaartendewit.com

  7. Aww just fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

